Call Today 813-876-7660

Office of the Bishop Staff


The Rev. Pedro M. Suárez

813-876-7660 ext. 225

The Rev. Pedro Suárez was elected bishop on Oct. 13, 2017 and will be installed in a service held on Jan. 20, 2018.

The Bishop is the Pastor to the Synod Community and exercises the church’s power to ordain and consecrate the Rostered ministers of this church. The Bishop is also responsible for strengthening the unity of the Church, exercising leadership in the mission of the church, and overseeing and administering the general work of the synod and staff. The mission of the Office of the Bishop is to shepherd and resource rostered ministers and congregations as they proclaim Christ to the world.

Bishop Suárez most recently served as lead pastor of St. Stephen Lutheran Church in Pompano Beach, FL and as interim Director for Evangelical Mission for the Florida-Bahamas Synod.  Previously, Suárez served in Texas, Illinois and in Wisconsin.

Born in Venezuela, Suárez earned the equivalent of a bachelor’s degree from the Seminario Evangelico Associado in Venezuela in 1980. He earned an MDiv from the Lutheran School of Theology in Chicago (LSTC) in 1992.  Bishop Suárez is married to ELCA Deacon Aura Suárez.  They have 2 adult children.

Contact Bishop Suárez about:

  • Pastoral Care for Rostered Ministers
  • Mission and Vision
  • Ordinations and Consecrations
  • Reports of Misconduct
  • Ecumenical relationships
  • Public Church presence

Assistants to the Bishop

HILTON, MicheleAdministration

Michele Hilton

813-876-7660 ext. 222

Contact Michele about:

  • Synod Assembly
  • Synod Council
  • Administrative matters
  • Constitution updates
  • Disaster response protocols

LeadershSCHMUCKER, Connieip

Connie Schmucker, ELCA Deacon

Candidacy, Mobility & Call Process


 Contact Connie about:

  • candidacy
  • pastoral transition (call process)
  • rostered minister transition
  • diakonia and synod parish deacons
  • leadership
  • First Call Theological Education
  • Interim/Transition ministry

Assistant to the Bishop – North Region


Contact the A2B for the North about:

  • general support for congregational ministry
  • preaching and presiding in worship
  • representing Office of the Bishop at anniversaries and special events
  • commissioning and installation services
  • pastoral support
  • development/redevelopment

Interim Assistant to the Bishop/Director for Evangelical Mission – South Region

Pastor John Mocko


Contact Pr. Mocko about:

  • general support for congregational ministry
  • preaching and presiding in worship
  • representing Office of the Bishop at anniversaries and special events
  • commissioning and installation services
  • Pastoral support
  • Development/redevelopment
  • New ministry starts
  • Congregational renewal



Interim Director for Evangelical Mission – North Region

Pastor Terrance Jacob


Contact Pr. Jacob about:

  • Support for new-start ministries and congregations under development,
  • Congregational re-development and renewal


MENDENHALL, SueYouth, Young Adult & Outdoor Ministry Program Director

Sue Mendenhall, ELCA Deacon


Contact Sue about:

  • Youth and Young Adult Ministry
  • Luther Springs programming
  • Summer Camp and retreats

Director of Discipleship and Communications

Michelle Collins, ELCA Deacon

813-876-7660, ext. 223

Contact Michelle about:

  • web site updates
  • publicizing/sharing events and ministry stories
  • Mission Interpreters
  • Resources and Curriculum requests
  • Spiritual and Faith formation retreats and resources
  • Congregational Spiritual Vitality

Support Staff

Bev2Administrative Assistant for Leadership

Beverly Evans

813-876-7660 ext. 232

Contact Bev about:

  • submitting candidacy foms
  • call/interim process forms and procedures
  • registration for some events

GARCIA, YulietAdministrative Assistant to the DEMs

Yuliet Garcia

813-876-7660 ext. 221

Contact Yuliet about:

  • mission development/redevelopment forms and processes
  • Mission Partners 100 application
  • scheduling/contacting DEMs and A2B for north/south
  • synod house meeting space use
  • Synod Assembly registration and Guidebook
  • Spanish language support

RAYMOND, KimStaff Accountant

Kim Raymond

813-876-7660 ext. 233

Contact Kim about:

  • submitting mission support
  • submitting designated gifts
  • submitting registration payments for events
  • bookkeeping/accounting assistance

SARDINAS, IleanaExecutive Admin Assistant to the Bishop

Ileana Sardinas

813-876-7660 ext. 225

Contact Ileana about:

  • scheduling the Bishop
  • ordination/installation details
  • transfer to/from FBSynod roster
  • Together in Mission