Call Today 813-876-7660

Office of the Bishop Staff

Bishop & Assistants to the Bishop

Bishop

The Rev. Pedro M. Suárez

Read Bishop Suárez’s biography HERE.

Contact Bishop Suárez:

(813) 876-7660 ext. 225

bishop@fbsynod.org

Contact Bishop Suárez about:

  • Pastoral Care for Rostered Ministers
  • Mission & Vision
  • Ordinations
  • Reports of Misconduct
  • Ecumenical Relationships
  • Public Church Presence

Assistant to the Bishop & Director for Evangelical Mission (North Region)

Pastor Rob Carlson

Contact Pr. Carlson:

(813) 498-8458

robc@fbsynod.org

Contact Pr. Carlson about:

  • General Support for Congregational Ministry
  • Preaching & Presiding in Worship
  • Representing Office of the Bishop at Anniversaries & Special Events
  • Commissioning & Installation Services
  • Pastoral Support
  • Development & Redevelopment
  • New Ministry Starts
  • Congregational Vitality

Assistant to the Bishop & Director for Evangelical Mission (South Region)

Pastor Khader El-Yateem

Contact Pr. El-Yateem:

(813) 440-1590

khadere@fbsynod.org

Contact Pr. El-Yateem about:

  • General Support for Congregational Ministry
  • Preaching & Presiding in Worship
  • Representing Office of the Bishop at Anniversaries & Special Events
  • Commissioning & Installation Services
  • Pastoral Support
  • Development & Redevelopment
  • New Ministry Starts
  • Congregational Vitality

Assistant to the Bishop for Administration

Michele Hilton

Watch a special video about Michele HERE.

Contact Michele:

(813) 876-7660 ext. 222

micheleh@fbsynod.org

Contact Michele about:

  • Synod Assembly
  • Synod Council
  • Administrative Matters
  • Constitution Updates

Assistant to the Bishop for Leadership

Connie Schmucker, ELCA Deacon

Contact Connie:

(407) 620-8564

connies@fbsynod.org

Contact Connie about:

  • Candidacy
  • Pastoral Transition (Call Process)
  • Rostered Minister Transition
  • Diakonia & Synod Parish Deacons
  • Leadership
  • First Call theological Education
  • Interim/Transition Ministry

Specialists

Director of Disaster Response

James (Jim) Habermehl

Contact Jim:

(804) 926-4129

jimh@fbsynod.org

Contact Jim about:

  • Disaster Response Protocols
  • Disaster Preparedness

Communications Specialist

Marina Ernst

Contact Marina:

(813) 876-7660 ext. 223

marinae@fbsynod.org

Contact Marina about:

  • E-Spirit Newsletter
  • Stories of Faith in Action
  • Website Updates
  • Social Media
  • Public Relations
  • Communications Recommendations for Congregations

Support Staff

Administrative Assistant for Leadership

Tina Fritz

Contact Tina:

(813) 876-7660 ext. 232

tinaf@fbsynod.org

Contact Tina about:

  • Submitting Candidacy Forms
  • Call/Interim Process Forms & Procedures
  • Registration for Some Events

Administrative Assistant to the DEMs

Yuliet Garcia

Contact Yuliet:

(813) 876-7660 ext. 221

yulietg@fbsynod.org

Contact Yuliet about:

  • Mission Development/Redevelopment Forms & Processes
  • Mission Partners 100 Application
  • Scheduling/Contracting DEMs & A2B for North & South
  • Synod House Meeting Space Use
  • Synod Assembly Registration & Guidebook
  • Spanish Language Support

Staff Accountant

Kim Raymond

Contact Kim:

(813) 876-7660 etc. 233

kimr@fbsynod.org

Contact Kim about:

  • Submitting Mission Support
  • Submitting Designated Gifts
  • Submitting Registration Payments for Events
  • Bookkeeping & Accounting Assistance

Executive Admin Assistant to the Bishop

Ileana Sardinas

Contact Ileana:

(813) 876-7660 ext. 225

ileanas@fbsynod.org

Contact Ileana about:

  • Scheduling the Bishop
  • Ordination & Installation Details
  • Transfer to/from Florida-Bahamas Synod Roster
  • Together in Mission

ELCA Regional Representatives

Regional Manager, Mission Investment Fund

Jerry Johnson, ELCA Deacon

Contact Jerry:

(773) 682-5954

jerry.johnson@elca.org

Regional Gift Planner, ELCA Foundation

Pastor Ana Lugo

Contact Pr. Lugo:

(904) 219-2769

ana.lugo@elca.org

Regional Representative, Portico Health Benefits

Rev. Cathy Schibler

Contact Rev. Schibler:

(419) 348-9760

cschibler@porticohealthbenefits.org